[ reviews ]

absolute noise ensemble42. absolute noise ensemble [ rec. 2005 ]

> rel. 2006 - CD Blossoming Noise, USA (website)
Francisco López - "absolute noise ensemble" (doubleCD Blossoming Noise, USA, 2006)
francisco lópez's absolute noise ensemble 2CD set featuring: alain wergifosse, albert mestre, antón ignorant, carlos medina, césar góngora, christian dergarabedian, daniel menche, ferrán fages, francisco lópez, games addiction, ilios, io casino, joe colley, jorge haro, koji asano, masami akita, mego laptop orchestra, michael gendreau, michael northam, oren ambarchi, philippe faujas, roc jiménez, ruben garcía, russell haswell, shunichiro okada, víctor nubla, zbigniew karkowski, zipperspy, alan courtis, amy denio, antonio garcía, audiopeste, bernhard günter, don campau, elliot sharp, eric muhs, frank koustrup, geoff dugan, gonçalo falcâo, john hegre, john hudak, john wiggins, jon tulchin, jorge mancini, jørgen teller, lasse marhaug, ludovic poulet, mason jones, mike honeycutt, minuit, oren ambarchi, ralf wehovsky, reznicek, scott konzelmann, stephen fenton, steve peters, tetsuo furudate, wojciek. Deluxe gatefold packaging. Cold Sping (UK), April 2006.

Francisco López - "absolute noise ensemble" (doubleCD Blossoming Noise, USA, 2006)
In Francisco López's projects one can clearly perceive a scientific method of sound generation, each successive album an intriguing research document exploring areas as diverse as field recording, seismology and silence. The 2CD set Absolute Noise Ensemble brings together five live tracks and a studio suite, all based on López's encounters with a group of fellow sound artists (a partial list includes Masami Akita, Oren Ambarchi, Koji Asano, Joe Colley, Amy Denio, Ferran Fages, Bernhard Günter, John Hudak, Ilios, Lasse Marhaug, Daniel Menche and Ralf Wehowsky..) performing in various combinations. The first disc, "Untitled Sonic Metaorganisms", starts out with consistently overcharged intensity, interacting immeasurable forces felt in rough spots of incendiary power. Distortion and noise appear to be winning the battle until they're swallowed up in a whole world of subversive quietness enriched with ultrasonic ambiguity. The tracks follow each other without a break forming a single composition, as is "Untitled Sonic Microorganisms" on disc 2, a magnificent aura of "processed, treated and manipulated guitars" recorded between 1992 and 2003 in various parts of the world. Those familiar with López's Belle Confusion 0247 (with Michael Northam, also present here) will recognise the evolutionary processes at work. There's no recognizable guitar sound, only combined reverberations of rumbling and scraping textures on the edge of breathtaking lunar darkness, only rarely interrupted by sudden rises of the sound pressure level. Majestic and mature. www.paristransatlantic.com, June 2006.

Francisco López's Absolute Noise Ensemble - "untitled sonic metaorganisms / untitled sonic microorganisms"
Well now this is a case of a record doing exactly what it says on the tin. Absolute Noise Ensemble? Yep, done. López has managed to round up practically the entire digital noise scene and hold them hostage - featuring Merzbow, Oren Ambarchi, Russell Haswell, Bernhard Günter and many many more - this double cd pack is a who's who of the scene. The pieces range from the quiet and atmospheric to the blistering earache we'd likely associate with Haswell, Merzbow or Hecker and it's all executed quite perfectly. If you're into noisy experimentalism then I'd say this package is pretty essential... Boomkat (UK), June 2006.